the dreaded hangover & slump

Every year I face this problem. And every year it falls during the summer time. Why did I think this year would be any different? lol

I am in the midst of experiencing the dreaded reading slump and I think it was caused by a book hangover (but not of the good variety). I recently finished a book that took me so long to read and I didn’t completely love it. I think forcing myself to finish said book did a number on me, because now I don’t really want to pick anything up!

So how am I battling this slump?

I’m not forcing anything. If I feel like picking up a book I’m going with it, but I’m not making myself read anything otherwise. Forcing myself to read a book is what got me in this mess to begin with!

When I DO pick up a book, I’m rereading a favorite. I love rereading books and rereading favorites is what almost always works to get me out of these slumps.

Lastly, I’m just giving it time. I’ve had slumps last like two months or even just two weeks. I’m just going to go with flow and see what happens! I am starting to miss reading so maybe I’ll climb out of this reading funk soon!

Hopefully I’ll be back to reading soon! How do you battle reading slumps and book hangovers? Share your tips in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “the dreaded hangover & slump

join the discussion

