Little Wrecks by Meredith Miller

Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are different from everyone else. They can see beneath the seemingly perfect, cookie-cutter exterior of their small town of Highbone, Long Island. They know that below the surface, each house is filled with secrets, indifference, and violence.

These girls refuse to become willing participants of these fake lives. Instead, they are determined to fight every condescending comment, every unwelcome touch, and every lie they’ve been told.

When the opportunity to commit the perfect crime appears, the girls finally start to see their way out of Highbone. But for the first time, Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are keeping secrets from each other. As they drift apart, the weight of reality starts to set in. These girls can’t save each other. They might not even be able to save themselves.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This is going to be a hard book to review. When I first came across the synopsis of the book I was excited! If I remember correctly, it was initially billed as a historical fiction, taking place in the 70s. I can’t find any proof of this, but based on the content and some of the references, I think the original synopsis is still relevant. The time frame doesn’t entirely affect the story, but it helps show that things were different then.

I loved the writing. It was written so beautifully and atmospheric and I think just overall well done. The story itself is where I start to have issues. This story follows three girls as they grow up in a smaller town in the late 70s. I honestly could not tell their POV’s apart very easily. They just were not distinguishable enough from each other. They all definitely blended. As a result, it was hard to really connect with any of them.

The things that happened in the story did come together in a very interesting and unexpected way. There were so many moments that I thought things were going to go so far south and (thankfully) they didn’t. This definitely wasn’t a happy book, but I’m just glad it didn’t get even more tragic.

Sorry for the shorter review, but since I didn’t really understand most of what was happening and I had such a hard time following the characters, I don’t have a whole lot of thoughts! I definitely still recommend it since the writing itself was so beautiful and quiet and touching. I may try to reread it when I’m not in the middle of so many books, but we’ll see!

join the discussion

