T5W | Top 5 Books Without Romance

So many books incorporate romance into the story some way or another so this was a hard topic for me to figure out! Thanks to some Google searches I was able to find some lists that I cultivated my own list from (hope that’s not cheating!).

Jackaby by William Ritter – It’s been awhile since I first read this, but I remember how much I loved the fact that romance was not a thing. The story focused on the characters and the mystery and not trying to create a relationship between Abigail and Jackaby. It was so refreshing!

Nancy Drew and the Secret of the Old Clock by Carolyn Keene – I know there’s a little bit of romance in the Nancy Drew books, but it’s so minor and NOT the focus of the series. The series focuses on Nancy solving crimes, sometimes with her dad and sometimes with friends. I grew up with the series and it will always be one of my favorites!

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – I really like this book, and yet have not read the sequels. In the first installment there wasn’t any romance (that I can remember). It focused on Kelsea’s journey on learning who she is and how to rule her kingdom. Definitely one to check out!

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga – It’s been awhile since I’ve read this book as well, but when I first discovered this series I fell in love! From what I can recall of the first book, there really isn’t romance. I remember Jasper having a friend who was a girl, but not in the romantic sense (at least at first). I kind of want to revisit this series as well!

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – With how many different POVs and time frames this book involves, you would think that romance would be involved somehow. Crazily enough, romance was never a focus! I loved this book when I read it earlier this year. Definitely a recommendation from me!

Visit the official Top Five Wednesday Goodreads group.

4 thoughts on “T5W | Top 5 Books Without Romance

    1. It is so amazing! While it’s billed a dystopian/post-apocalyptic, it’s so much more than that. It’s really about the people and their journey figuring things out after everything happens. Highly recommended!

      Like

  1. Awesome list!
    I actually have Jackaby, The Queen of the Tearling, and Station Eleven all on my TBR so I’m glad to hear they’re amazing and romance free!

    It’s also really awesome to see Nancy Drew included on here! I absolutely adored those books when I was kid!

    I absolutely loved the entire I Hunt Killers trilogy and while there is a little romance it was definitely not the focus which was great! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are all amazing books and you should definitely check them out! I would definitely start with Station Eleven – it’s one of my favorites so far this year!

      Nancy Drew is just a classic. My grandma collects them and I remember sneaking them into bed and reading them – thinking she would never know. I plan on rereading them (starting) this year!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

join the discussion

