Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I read this book years ago and really liked it. For some reason I never really finished the series. I tried a few other books involving angels and none really lived up to the standards this one set. I’ve been wanting to try this book again and try finishing the series so I finally picked it up to re-read!

I enjoyed it just as much this time around as I did the first time I read it. There is something so beautiful about how Laini Taylor writes. Everything just flows and jumps off the page. You can really picture the cities and the teeth and Karou’s world. I connected with her pretty much right away. I understood her struggle of trying to figure out who she is and what her purpose is. I was definitely rooting for her from the start. I really enjoyed the other characters as well. They were all so different and had their own distinct voices and personalities. The angels were a bit similar, but were still different enough. While similar, there were still kind of one-note.

One of the (few) struggles I had was how quickly everything moved at the end. There is so much build up and so much slow burn at the start and then everything happens all at once and then it’s over. I wish it had started with the slow burn, and picked up speed steadily throughout instead of the quick rush towards the end. I read this a few years ago initially and didn’t really remember much of what had happened. I re-read it a couple months ago and trying to write a review now – a lot of it is kind of fuzzy as well.

Despite the minor flaws, I really liked it and still question why I haven’t read any of the sequels yet! (still)

join the discussion

