twenty – five bookish facts

This has been an interesting week for me and haven’t had a whole lot of time to write anything! I’m doing overnights for work so my days and nights are all out of whack! (thus why this is going up so late in the day) Here are 25 bookish facts about me!

  1. I like big books and I cannot lie. I’ve always had a fascination with bigger books. When I was younger, my grandma would always take us to the used book store to pick out a book. One time she told me to be sure to pick a longer book that I wouldn’t just finish on my way home. So I scoured the enitre store and picked out the biggest book I could find – a Russian history book. Needless to say she didn’t let me buy it, but it’s one of my favorite stories from when I was a kid.
  2. I really did not like Pride and Prejudice. I know this may shock a lot of people, but I thought it was the most ridiculous thing that I’ve read.
  3. I don’t really understand the whole OTP/ship it thing. (but I’m okay with that)
  4. I am slightly obsessed with rearranging my books. I’m always wanting to rearrange my bookcases. I’m never happy with how I have it organized and I think it’s fun switching it up!
  5. Sarah Dessen is my favorite author. She definitely helped me get back into reading when I first discovered her back in like 2009ish.
  6. I can’t read just one book at a time.
  7. I am definitely a mood reader. It makes it hard to plan out TBR lists and all that.
  8. I love to reread books. I love revisting favorite books. I also tend to reread a lot of books that are part of series.
  9. I loved Grapes of Wrath and Jane Eyre.
  10. I can’t listen to audiobooks. I use TV and music as background music when I’m reading so I tend to tune out audiobooks since I’m used to tuning out sound while reading.
  11. I am horrible at finishing series. I have started so many different ones and never pick up the sequel – even if I own it.
  12. My one guilty pleasure with books is reading christian romance novels. My favorite authors in this genre would be Janette Oke and Jillian Hart.
  13. I honestly don’t understand collecting multiple editions of same book. I only have one (very mixed) set of Harry Potter, but I am collecting the illustrated editions. Other than that – I don’t see the appeal (mostly because of the cost).
  14. I’ve only read maybe half (probably less) of the physical books I own. 
  15. I am horrible at returning physical library books. I’ve paid so many late fees I only get ebooks from the library from now on!
  16. My hubby doesn’t really read which kind of breaks my heart.
  17. I don’t lend out books anymore. I’ve had too many not returned (including favorites of mine).
  18. Blogging is really hard for me. It’s hard for me to translate my thoughts and ideas into words on paper. I like the challenge though!
  19. I prefer buying used/discount books than buying new. Books are expensive!
  20. I really don’t like book hype. I will avoid über popular books for a bit as a result.
  21. I will buy other people books as gifts as often as I can. For hubby and my first wedding anniversary (which is paper) I bought him a a book!
  22. I always have ideas for what I think would be interesting books but I am just not a writer.
  23. I struggle the most with award-winning fiction (adult specifically). It is just not my cup of tea!
  24. My favorite genre is fantasy. I started out with YA fantasy, but am more into adult fantasy as well.
  25. My least favorite genre is science fiction. I just don’t connect with it. The one exception is Ready Player One.
join the discussion

