William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope by Ian Doescher

Return once more to a galaxy far, far away with this sublime retelling of George Lucas’s epic Star Wars in the style of the immortal Bard of Avon. The saga of a wise (Jedi) knight and an evil (Sith) lord, of a beautiful princess held captive and a young hero coming of age, Star Wars abounds with all the valor and villainy of Shakespeare’s greatest plays. ‘Tis a tale told by fretful Droids, full of faithful Wookiees and fearsome Stormtroopers, signifying… pretty much everything.

Reimagined in glorious iambic pentameter, William Shakespeare’s Star Wars will astound and edify Rebels and Imperials alike. Zounds! This is the book you’re looking for.

Something that not a lot of people know about me is that I was performance theater major in college (never finished my degree though). I am a closet theater kid. I’m not as into it as I used to be and not even as much as I would like to be, but that will always be one of my passions. I also love Star Wars and all things related. When I saw that there was someone who turned Star Wars into Shakespeare plays I could NOT resist! I am so glad that I picked it up and I can’t wait to get to the next one!

I loved that I could picture it on stage. I could see how one could direct and set up the stage and how they could do the battles and lighting and different things. I really hope that there are schools or community theaters out there who get permission to try to perform this. I think it is so feasible to do and could really help tie theater and Shakespeare into the modern age for a lot of kids.

I liked that the Shakespearean language was approachable as well. It was definitely along the lines of traditional Shakespeare, but with a bit more modern language used. I showed one of my friends at work the book and she was able to understand most of it and thought it was approachable as well. I did struggle a bit getting into the flow of it, but that’s mainly because it has been so long since I’ve read a script. I’m not sure if someone isn’t familiar with scripts and plays if they would have the same issue.

I loved seeing the memorable quotes from the movie reimagined. It also seemed there were some classic Shakespeare lines added in which was awesome. Seeing these two worlds collide turned out to be purely magical.

After I finished the book, I noticed there was a website that provides resources for teachers and I decided to check it out. I love that they have a whole packet to provide to teachers that can help guide different lessons. It is such a cool resource!

Overall, I just loved this book! I DEFINITELY plan on reading more of this series. It is awesome! I strongly recommend it to fans of Star Wars and theater kids alike.

join the discussion

