T5W | Top 5 Sci-Fi Fantasy Books on My TBR

This week’s topic is all about Science Fiction & Fantasy and what the top books on our TBR are. I love fantasy and it is primarily what I read. Of course I haven’t gotten to all of the fantasy and science fiction books on my TBR so I’ll be sharing the 5 that are on the top of my list!

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – This is one of the few books that I am ashamed admitting that I have not read yet. Even my husband (who is NOT a reader) has read it! I’ve read another book by Orson Scott Card and enjoyed it (Seventh Son), but it was a fantasy. I have a harder time with science fiction so I think that’s why I’ve been dragging my feet.

Armada by Ernest Cline – One of the few science fiction books that I absolutely loved was Ready Player One. I read it twice in one year! I knew he had another book and finally decided to break down and buy it. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews, but I kind of like reading those books best – simply to see where I fall on the spectrum.

The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner – I was given this by my #otspsecretsister last year and have heard so many great things about the series in general. It’s on the top of many ‘best of’ lists and with the release of a new installment coming up, it definitely has moved up my TBR.

Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff – I am a big fan of different mythology and so to come across a book that utilizes Japanese mythology and combine it with fantasy and science fiction and all those good things – of course I’m going to pick it up to read! I tried to read it last year, but I don’t think I was in the right mind set to get through it so I put it down for the time being. I’m hoping to pick it up again soon, but I’m definitely waiting for the time to be right.

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – I remember getting a chance to get the review book for the sequel before it was released and it sounded amazing so of course I downloaded it! Then I realized that I’ve never read the first installment and who’s to say I would like it enough to continue with the series? I’ve seen so many amazing reviews for both so I still think it’s worth the risk!

honorable mentionBrave Story by Miyuki Miyabe – This is only an honorable mention because I’ve technically read it before. However, I’ve been wanting to re-read it for ages. This is definitely one of my all time favorite fantasy books ever and I can’t wait to finally re-read it!

Visit the official Top Five Wednesday Goodreads group.

3 thoughts on “T5W | Top 5 Sci-Fi Fantasy Books on My TBR

  1. I’ve heard good things about The Thief too and I am still interested in it, although the series is not finished yet and it started in the 90s… 20 years ago… So I am a bit scared!

    Like

    1. I figure since I’m already reading the Game of Thrones series and am still waiting for the next installment, maybe the longer they take, the better it is? Maybe? lol

      Liked by 1 person

join the discussion

