Hunted by Meagan Spooner

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

I received this book for free from edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I am a huge fan of Beauty and the Beast. It is one of my favorite Disney movies ever! I’ve read a few other retellings and was never really impressed by them. That made me apprehensive to dive into this retelling. That said, I did enjoy this one! I felt that it was a fresh take on the tale that I hadn’t really seen or heard of before. I really enjoyed the writing. I thought that it flowed and I could definitely picture the woods they were in. I also enjoyed some of the magic aspects. The magic didn’t seem outlandish or impossible. It really felt like it belonged in the story.

That said, there were parts of the story that I was not entirely sure I connected with. The story did feel a lot longer than it actually was. According to Goodreads, the book is only 352 pages. For me, it definitely felt like it was 400+. Despite the beautiful writing, the story itself dragged in parts. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the ending. It felt too much like a fable with a cliche moral to the story kind of thing. I enjoyed what happened, not so much HOW it happened. (if that made any sense)

I did enjoy most of the characters though. I really liked the Beast’s POV. I wish it wasn’t so brief, but it definitely worked for the story. I liked Yeva also. She was definitely atypical from the type of girl you find in fairy tales. She was fairly independent and had a good head on her shoulders. She really care for her family. One thing I don’t quite get is why it took her so long to back. Doe Eyes was hands down my favorite. I’m not really sure why I connected the most with a dog, but I loved her! That dog is so loyal and added a good element when they were all in the woods and at the castle.

I did get confused about Solmir though. First she loved Yeva? But really wanted to be with her sister? I’m still not sure how that whole thing went down. I was also a little confused about her dad. I still don’t quite understand how he died. I really liked her sisters though. I liked that Lena was able to get her happily ever after and that Asenka was able to get hers as well.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and I fully plan on seeking out more books by Meagan Spooner.

join the discussion

