currently reading overload

How many books do you typically read at the same time? Some people can juggle ten books; others can only read one. Personally, I’m pretty comfortable with two or three books going at a time. I will typically read an ebook along with a physical book. Occasionally I’ll add in a third book – either one I’m buddy reading or one that will take a bit longer.

Right now I’m in the middle of FIVE books! I’m not really sure how that happened, but I’m definitely feeling the pain of reading so many books at once. So what am I reading?

A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin – I am in a Goodreads group that has been reading the entire series. I read the first three pretty easily, but definitely got stuck on the fourth. When I finally finished it I did not want to pick up the next for a bit. I finally picked it up, but I’m still going quite slowly through it. I’m approximately 60% so I’m chugging right along, but I don’t foresee myself finishing anytime soon.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling – Inspired by the group I’m in reading the A Song of Ice and Fire series, a couple of us decided to start a group to read the entire Harry Potter series. Despite a strong start, I’ve definitely slowed down and am a bit behind the rest of the group. With reading two longer fantasy books, I haven’t really wanted to pick up either one. I’m slowly getting through this one though and once I’m done with A Dance With Dragons I think it’ll go quicker.

Columbine by Dave Cullen – This was definitely an impromptu choice to start. I’m not sure why I didn’t just wait until I was done with one of my other buddy read books. It’ll definitely be slow going and I may divide it similarly as I do my buddy read books – try to reach a certain point at a specific time.

William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope by Ian Doescher – This is supposed to be my easy read physical book. The theater kid in me is loving it, but I haven’t read a play in years so it’s not going as quick as I thought it would.

Riveted by Jay Crownover – I’m finally current in this series! I’m pretty excited. I enjoy this series and it’s a nice/easy read before bed.

So much for the two (maybe three) books at a time! I would like to pretend that this number will go down, but I’m set up for many more buddy reads over the next few months and there’s still two more Harry Potter books to get through so it’s doubtful! lol

How do you balance reading multiple books at once? Do you have a limit on how many you have going at once?

2 thoughts on “currently reading overload

  1. Wow, five books. I usually do one to two books at a time. If I do happen to pick up a second book it has to be from a different genre, if not… I start mixing up characters (I blame it on old age.) I found your blog through Goodreads Top 5 Wednesday. Happy reading.

    Like

    1. Yeah… I’m questioning my sanity a bit with how many are going on at once. lol Thankfully they’re fairly different from each other so it’s not too hard to remember who’s who and such.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

join the discussion

