The Killer in Me by Margot Harrison

Seventeen-year-old Nina Barrows knows all about the Thief. She’s intimately familiar with his hunting methods: how he stalks and kills at random, how he disposes of his victims’ bodies in an abandoned mine in the deepest, most desolate part of a desert.

Now, for the first time, Nina has the chance to do something about the serial killer that no one else knows exists. With the help of her former best friend, Warren, she tracks the Thief two thousand miles, to his home turf-the deserts of New Mexico.

But the man she meets there seems nothing like the brutal sociopath with whom she’s had a disturbing connection her whole life. To anyone else, Dylan Shadwell is exactly what he appears to be: a young veteran committed to his girlfriend and her young daughter. As Nina spends more time with him, she begins to doubt the truth she once held as certain: Dylan Shadwell is the Thief. She even starts to wonder . . . what if there is no Thief?

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I love mysteries and when I saw that this took place where I live, I couldn’t NOT pick it up! While the premise was enjoyable, I can’t help but wonder if I rated it what I did because of where it takes place. I really liked the beginning, but once a slight… paranormal (?) aspect came into play it didn’t really click for me. It almost seemed too easy and convenient.

We start out in Vermont with Nina. Nina somehow knows everything that this serial killer, the Thief, is doing and how he is committing his crimes. She decides to finally take steps to stop him and try to catch him. This leads her to Warren. Warren and Nina used to be friends, but had a falling out of sorts. As Warren gets dragged into everything, you really start to question everything that is going on. Is she really seeing these things? Is it just a case of an overactive imagination?

Nina was not my favorite. She seemed very… one dimensional. She was so focused on herself and what she was seeing that she never really seemed to connect with anyone else – not even her family. On the other hand, I really liked Warren. He was a voice of reason, but was so supportive and really cared for Nina. I wish I felt Nina’s connection to him – especially with the events towards the end when she was trying to protect him. It was just TOO one sided for me.

As far as everything going on with the Thief specifically, it got a bit confusing. I wish that Nina didn’t suffer such a long period of doubt. I liked the concept of how she saw everything and how they were connected, but how they handled breaking that connection towards the end felt like a bit of a cop out. There was so much to explore there and it wasn’t.

I loved that it took place in New Mexico, where I’m from. I don’t quite understand how Nina got to Arizona in like 5 hours, but that’s a different story. A lot of the landscapes and locations were familiar to me and it was really cool to have that in a book.

I’d probably read more by this author. I’m glad I read it, I just wish there was just a bit more to it.

join the discussion

