word of the year

Ever since falling into the rabbit hole of bullet journaling, I’ve seen a lot of people chose a word for the year. They take that word and incorporate it into their lives all year long – kind of like a yearly theme of sorts. I was writing in my journal and randomly ended up choosing a word of the year for myself!

growth

I have been feeling stagnant in my life. I eat the same things all the time, I’m doing the same job for 3 years now, I spend my time doing the same things day after day (aka nothing) and I’m starting to feel like I’m in a rut. I really want to grow this year. I want to grow as a person and in my career and as an adult. Thus, my word of the year is growth. I want to see things grow and change and I really just want to improve my life.

There are four categories that I really want to see improvement and growth.

health | I really want to have a healthier lifestyle. I tend to eat the same (bad) food all the time. I don’t work out. I just sit. While I wouldn’t say I’m unhealthy, I know that there is a lot of room for improvement. I really want to lose 10 pounds this year. I want to start making healthier choices when it comes to what I eat on a regular basis (that means way more vegetables and fruit).

career | I’ve been working for the same employer for about 3.5 years now. 3 of those years I’ve been in the same position (basically). I recently tried to move up and it did not work in my favor. I really want to see my career grow this year – whether it is for the same company or not. I want to see an improvement in pay and a bit more of a challenge. I just need a change I think – it’s getting a bit bland/easy.

relationships | I feel like this will be the hardest area for me. I suffer from social anxiety and that has definitely affected my relationships with my friends and with my family. At this point, I really don’t have friends (that is really sad to admit). I don’t keep in touch with my family very well nor do I have a very good connection with them. I really want to change that. I’m just really not sure how to.

adulting | This is the main reason for my choice in word of the year. I kind of suck at being an adult (no lie). I’m not good at running a household or taking care of myself or taking care of others. I have so much room for improvement in this category that it will be my number one focus. If I can get into a good cleaning routine and have a better self care system in place, then I would be pretty happy.

I’m really not sure how I’ll gauge my progress on any of this, but I’m not going to really stress out about it either. I’ll probably evaluate where I’m at periodically and try to brainstorm new ways to make improvements and we’ll see what happens by the end of 2017!

join the discussion

